About SOG

General Information

SOG is the International Political Science Association's ‘Research Committee on Structure and Organization of Government’ (RC 27) and the sponsor of the international journal ‘Governance. An International Journal of Policy, Administration and Institutions’, created in 1987.
The Research Committee's primary focus is the comparative study of executive branches, their changing roles in public policy making and the various dimensions of executive politics. At the centre of this focus is the dynamics of public bureaucracies, their relations with political executives and interests in civil societies and their contributions to the design and implementation of public policies. In the widest sense, the activities of SOG include the study of government, governance, public administration, public management and regulation with a large variety of methods and theoretical perspectives.

SOG’s aim is to bring together researchers from many areas and disciplines and from various parts of the academic world for high quality conferences and stimulating interactions.

SOG organizes at least one international conference a year, including a series of panels at the IPSA World Congress (every two years), providing valuable opportunities for disseminating research, excellent networks to exchange views among leading researchers and potential opportunities for future research co-operation and publications.

Further reading: Presentation of SOG


Stein Rokkan Centre for Social Studies
Nygårdsgaten 5
N-5015 Bergen

Phone: 0047 55589710
Fax: 0047 55589711

Email: Per Lægreid on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

New board - 2014
Chair and Co-Chairs

  • Joel D. Aberbach
    University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  • Philippe Bezes
    National Center for Scientific Research, France


  • Per Lægreid
    University of Bergen/Rokkan-Centre, Norway

Members of the Executive Board

  • Akira Nakamura
    Meiji University, Japan
  • B. Guy Peters
    University of Pittsburgh, USA
  • Sandeep Shastri
    University of Bangalore, India
  • Graham Wilson
    University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
  • Moshe Maor
    Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
  • Donald P. Moyniham
    University of Wisconsin, USA
  • Bidhya Bowornwathana
    Chulalongkorn University, Thailand
  • Tom Christensen
    University of Oslo, Norway
  • Mark Considine
    Universty of Melbourne, Australia
  • Kutsal Yesilkagit
    University of Utrecht, Netherlands
  • Julia Fleischer
    University of Bergen, Norway
  • Bob Cox
  • John Halligan
    University of Canberra, Australia
  • Martin Lodge
    London School of Economics and Political Science, United Kingdom